The Passover Seder plate


The Seder plate is part of a ritual meal held during the Passover festival. In this special plate it is customary to place the food that symbolizes the Jews’ experiences as slaves in Egypt – Let’s see what it’s all about…


The star on the table


At the center of the Jewish Passover meal is the Passover Seder plate. The plate has six dishes for the six symbols of the Passover Seder:

Maror, bitter herbs which represent the suffering of the Israelite slaves.

Karpas, a vegetable that is dipped into salt water during the Seder. The salt water represents the tears shed during the time of slavery.

Chazeret, a bitter vegetable often used in addition to the maror as a bitter herb.

Charoset, a mixture of apples, nuts, spices and wine which represents the bricks and mortar used by the slaves (it is very tasty. I might add…).

Zeroa (shankbone), symbolic of the Paschal lamb offered as the Passover sacrifice in biblical times.

Beitzah, roasted egg that is symbolic of the festival sacrifice made in biblical times.

Some plates have only five dishes. This is because there is some controversy among the authorities as to the requirement of chazeret.


Let’s take a look at it


Over the years, the this unique plate has become a focus of Jewish artistic expression. This is mainly because of the popularity of the Seder and the plate’s central position in it.
I have some great Passover plates to show you, to see them just click here

Leave a reply

Name (required)